Montreal, 19 March 2023: This year’s awards ceremony for the Air Transport Awards took place next to the 2023 Air Transport Symposium with the participation of industry leaders.

The 2023 Air Transport Awards are in partnership with Hermes – Air Transport Organisation and ATN – Air Transport News.

Welcoming the participants, Dr Kostas Iatrou, President of the 2022 Air Transport Awards: “After 10 years I am pleased that the Air Transport Awards take place in the aviation capital of the world, Montreal. The awards recognise the personalities, organisations and companies that contribute to the development of our sector”.

“It is with great pleasure that I accept this ATN Individual Award which I dedicate to the ERA team and also to all women in aviation. Our industry needs to continue to strive for a greater female presence, to encourage women from schools and universities into all aspects of aviation, to ensure our industry’s future growth and prosperity. I hope this award will inspire younger females to develop a career in an industry that would bring them lots of joy and fulfilment”. said Montserrat Barriga, Director General, ERA

Aviation Administration of Kazakhstan said: “Our strategic vision is to increase our national strength, set up AAK as a model in EurAsian Region and become a global center of excellence for aviation regulators. ATN Corporate Award recognizes the strong leadership and vision of Kazakhstan Civil Aviation and enable our aspirations for a more performant, efficient and effective CAA.”

Glyn Hughes, Director General of TIACA accepting the ATN International Organisation Award said: “It is such an honor for TIACA to receive this award in recognition for the work we are doing to promote the air cargo industry.  During covid, the great men and women of air cargo saved lives through their dedication and commitment to doing the right thing. We now support economic recovery and will always be there as a first responder in times of humanitarian need.  TIACA accepts this award on behalf of the entire industry.?

SkyTeam is taking a holistic approach to global travel, where its commitment to a seamless customer experience is matched by a commitment to caring for the planet. The judges were also impressed by SkyTeam’s work to increase gender diversity in the aviation industry through its RISE Leadership program and alliance-wide participation in IATA’s 25by2025 initiative.” said Patrick Roux, CEO & Managing Director of SkyTeam.

Kadri Samsunlu, CEO of iGA Istanbul Airport: “As iGA Istanbul Airport, we have managed to have a very successful year despite all the challenges and difficulties we have faced in the aviation industry. Our airport became one of the most operationally resilient airports in Europe last year, handling 64.5 million passengers, as we remained the busiest global hub in Europe for three consecutive years. Due to the utterly heartbreaking earthquake disaster in Türkiye we couldn’t attend the award ceremony in person, but receiving the Airport of the Year award from the Air Transport Awards demonstrates the resilience of our country as well as iGA Istanbul Airport after such horrific event. Our priority is to provide our passengers with a seamless and enjoyable travel experience for all segmentation bases and our commitment is to continue operational excellence as a reflection of how well our airport is serving to its employees, stakeholders and passengers. Also we would like to give a big thank-you to everyone who has made this possible through their efforts.”

Jozsef Varadi, CEO, Wizz Air said: “I am grateful to accept the Airline of the Year award on behalf of the entire Wizz Air team. Wizz Air is one of the fastest growing and greenest airlines in the world. We provide our customers with great services at the lowest possible fares across the Wizz network of 1,000 routes in 55 countries in Europe, Middle East, Asia, and Africa. This award is a recognition of the relentless efforts of our 8,000 employees to make flying accessible to everyone.”

Accepting the award Mehmet Nane, Chair of Board of Governors of IATA said: “I am deeply honoured to receive the 2023 Hermes Awardfrom the Hermes Air Transport Organisation. Hermes has long been a driving force for excellence in aviation, and I am proud to be recognised by this esteemed organisation. I remain committed to working tirelessly for the sustainable development of the civil aviation industry and look forward to continuing this important work together with the organisations that I proudly represent.”

Egbert Field, Director General, Guyana Civil Aviation Authority accepting the Katerina & George Iatrou” Lifetime Achievement Award said: ”Believe in yourself that no matter your circumstances of birth or life, you were born to win. However to be a winner, you must plan to win, prepare to win, and expect to win”.

“I am truly honoured to be awarded the 2023 Leader of the Year Award and to be included among such an exceptional group of leaders that have made remarkable contributions to aviation development.

I take great pride in the fact that the priorities that I have identified as part of my agenda as President of the Council are successfully being realized to the benefit of all ICAO member States and the global aviation community, yet I am also fully cognizant that this award is as much a reflection of the excellent work and achievements of ICAO as a whole and therefore belongs to all of us.” said Salvatore Sciacchitano, President of the Council, ICAO.


In particular, the winners by category are as follows:

-ATN Individual Award: Montserrat Barriga, Director General, ERA

-ATN Corporate Award: Aviation Administration of Kazakhstan 

-ATN International Organisation Award: TIACA

-Alliance of the Year: SkyTeam

-Airport of the Year: iGA Istanbul Airport 

-Airline of the Year: Wizz Air

-Hermes Award: Mehmet Nane, Chair, Board of Governors, IATA 

-“Katerina & George Iatrou” Lifetime Achievement Award: Lt. Col. (ret’d). Egbert Field, Director General, Guyana Civil Aviation Authority

-Leader of the Year: Salvatore Sciacchitano, President of the Council, ICAO