Ekali, 3 May 2019: This year ceremony took place next to the Hermes AGM and Leaders Forum with the participation of the industry leaders. 

The 2019 Air Transport Awards are in partnership with Hermes – Air Transport Organisation and ATN – Air Transport News.

Welcoming the participants Dr Kostas Iatrou, President of the 2019 Air Transport Awards said” “The Air Transport Awards have become an important event in the industry thanks to the commitment of the organizations and individuals of the aviation sector. It is important to recognize and honor the best of the best and to celebrate their leadership.”

Mario Nemeth, Director General, Civil Aviation of Slovakia: “The ATN Individual Award touched me deeply.I feel extremely honored and motivated to continue giving my upmost to the citizens and the industry. Nowadays the aviation sector is dynamically developing and it is our job to face all challenges professionally.”

“I would like to thank ATN for honouring Goldair Handling with ATN Corporate award. 

It is indeed a very proud moment for our company and the dedicated employees who have worked day and night to make Goldair Handling one of the first choice of airlines throughout our network.” Dimitris Papamichail, CEO, Goldair Handling

“We strive to contribute to the industry and to the communities touched by the economic and social benefits of aviation,” ACI World Director General Angela Gittens said. “I am pleased that the ATN International Organisation Award recognizes our efforts as an organization that continues to make valuable contributions to the air transportation industry.”

Jeffrey Goh, CEO Star Alliance, commented: “Being presented with this important accolade is a testament to our continued focus on making the customer journey better.”

“It is a great honor for Lisbon Airport to receive the Airport of the Year Award. Lisbon is an amazing city that grew incredibly in recent years, and the airport has been responding to airline and passenger expectations and coping with this fast growth that brought great challenges. The team of Lisbon is fully committed and excel every single day on their dedication to their work, and so this award means a lot for distinguishing the effort of the team in Lisbon Airport and the rest of the teams at ANA Aeroportos de Portugal – VINCI Airports.” CEO of ANA Aeroportos de Portugal – VINCI Airports, Thierry Ligonnière

Stephen Jones, Deputy CEO and Managing Director of Wizz Air Hungary said: “Today marks yet another important milestone for Wizz Air. We are honoured to be recognized as the Airline of the Year. This award is the result of hard work and dedication of the remarkable WIZZ Team, loyalty and trust of our customers as well as support of our partners. Wizz Air has built its business around a simple purpose of making air travel affordable for all and bringing opportunities to make life and the world around us better, and this award is another proof that we are on the right track. Going forward, Wizz Air will continue to enhance customer experience while bringing innovation and  ensuring that everyone has the opportunity to improve their lives through travel.”


“I am truly honoured to have been selected as the recipient of the inaugural Hermes award. EUROCONTROL is an integral part of the aviation system and we are striving harder and harder every day to support the European aviation industry. I take great pride in the work that we do and I am delighted to accept this award as recognition for the good work that EUROCONTROL provides to our industry day-in and day-out” 

“It has been and continues to be a privilege to be associated with this very special industry and to work every day with such extraordinary professionals.  I am profoundly grateful to the Air Transport Awards committee for this very generous recognition.” said Jeff Shane accepting the Katerina & George Iatrou Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu, President of the ICAO Council: “I would like to share the Leader of the Year award with ICAO’s very dedicated Council Representatives, as well as with the various Commissioners, Secretariat staff, and Member State experts who have all helped ICAO become a more dynamic driver of air transport progress in recent years. We have some truly excellent people in ICAO today and I am very proud to serve alongside them, and I wish to also stress that ICAO and its leaders are only as successful as the parties they support and bring together.” said Eamonn Brennan, Director General, EUROCONTROL

The jury of the corporate awards composed of some of the most prominent figures of the air transport industry  selected  the winners, namely:

•    Henrik Hololei, Chairperson of the Jury & Director General for Mobility and Transport, European Commission

•    Robert Deillon, Vice President, Hermes – Air Transport Organisation

•    Charles Schlumberger, Lead Air Transport, World Bank

In particular, the winners by category are as follows:

-ATN Individual Award: Mario Nemeth, Director General, Civil Aviation of Slovakia

-ATN Corporate Award: Goldair Handling

-ATN International Organisation Award: ACI

-Manufacturer of the Year: Airbus

-Airport of the Year: Lisbon Airport

-Airline Alliance of the Year: Star Alliance

-Airline of the Year: Wizz Air

-Hermes Award: Eamonn Brennan, Director General, EUROCONTROL

-“Katerina & George Iatrou” Lifetime Achievement Award: Jeff Shane

-Leader of the Year: Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu, President of the ICAO Council